rant

By: ewhite422

Mar 27 2010

Category: Uncategorized

2 Comments


I indulged in a bit of a rant yesterday and today I’m feeling not so good about it.  I was arguing that our civil discourse needs to reasoned…not inflammatory or irresponsible.  But my tone was not exactly measured.  So I took the post down, when I woke this morning at 4:30.  My husband and I are attending the funeral of a family member today…his uncle, and that makes me pause and reflect on my own life and what I want to be remembered for.  I want to do no harm and to nurture people who come into my path, whether they are family members, friends, or strangers.

On Thursday I went to renew my drivers license and there was a young mother ahead of me with 2 toddlers…a 2 years old and an 11 month old.  The mother was holding the baby and the 2 years old was fussing, wanting to be held, too.  It reminded me of my own daughter and my granddaughters, both requiring attention.  I spoke to the mother, “I’m a grandmother and it looks like you could use another set of arms.  Would you like me to hold your daughter?”  She could have said no, but instead, she looked relieved and said, “Please!”  I bent down to the 2 year old and asked her if she would like me to hold her.  You never know how children will react and I didn’t want to make her uncomfortable, but she help out her little arms for me to pick her up.  We chatted for about 20 minutes…the line was very long…and as we said goodbye, I was thankful that I got to spend that time with that child.  The woman at the counter remarked, “That was a really nice thing to do.”

I said, “Well, I’m trying very hard to be nice these days.”

So, to anyone I upset yesterday with my rant, my humble apologies.

I hope to be nice today.

2 comments on “rant”

  1. I liked your rant (I do a little ranting myownself sometimes) and didn’t see it as too harsh. I wish all sides would simmer down and discuss issues rather than give in to heated emotional thinking. Kudos for your comments yesterday.

    • Thanks, Mike! It is worrying me a great deal and I think that our leaders have to tone down the language. I don’t pretend to be leading, but I thought that I had been harsh, so I took action.


Leave a Reply

