new age for adulthood

By: ewhite422

Mar 30 2010

Category: Uncategorized

4 Comments


I read over the weekend that another thing to blame Obama for is the new age of adulthood.  Apparently, the healthcare bill raises the age that “children” can be on their parents’ health insurance to age 26.  That should cover most of the college years, unless, of course, you are blessed with “children” who want to be doctors or lawyers.  My husband and I have a couple of those.  We also had 5 children in college at one time. 

And stuff happens to young people in college.  They wreck cars.  They break bones doing “young people” things.  So, I think I am in favor of the new healthcare.  Otherwise, what are you going to do?

Your “child” is still in school after 4 years because they had to work part time to help pay for their tuition and expenses and they couldn’t carry the full load and make the grades they needed.  He or she calls you from the emergency room after an accident.  What are you going to say?  “Sorry, you’re on your own?”

So age 26 is the new age for adulthood.  I was okay with that until I got my bubble burst recently.  I had been recruited to interview for a job, running a non profit that I really cared about.  I met with the board as part of the interview process and had a delightful time getting to know them and telling them about myself.  When I got to the part that my husband and I have 9 children between us, but they were all young adults and 26 was the new 18, one of the board members, a PhD in Psychology gave me a wry smile, “My dear, you may not know this, and I’m sorry to break it to you, but 35 is the new 18.”

They could have carried me out on a stretcher.

Later, I was talking to a mentor of mine, who has grown children and grandchildren.  When I related the tale of the job interview, he replied, “My son is 41, and this is the first year he has not asked for money from me!”

How has this happened?  What can be done?

Maybe someone needs to start a service that parents can subscribe to that will take requests from their “children” and evaluate whether they’re legitimate.  If they are, they will be passed on for consideration and funding from the family budget.  The “child” will have to submit a financial statement, declaring all their bills and expenses, even the beer or plans for trips overseas.  If the request is not legitimate after evaluation, the organization will contact the “child” on the parents’ behalf and deliver the news that their “grant” has not been funded.  That could be a new non profit to help baby boom parents!  Has it already been done?  Does anybody know?  Maybe that’s my calling!

It’s hard to be a parent.  I hear my own daughter sighing as she finally gets her 2 young daughters to sleep after multiple ups and downs.  “Mom, does it get better?” she asks.

“Yes, I reassure her.  It does.”  I have my fingers crossed behind my back.  “But you’ll always have new challenges.  That’s life,” I say with a smile.

Am I crazy, or did I just imagine that my parents had it easier?  When do I get to the part where I play bridge every night and listen to Frank Sinatra?  Which in this day would be Michael Buble.

The sad thing is, I never learned to play bridge and don’t really want to.  So, I guess I’m doing just what I should be doing, but I am liking this idea of a non profit that will evaluate “childrens’ funding requests.”  That could be a good business!  It could charge a big fee for being the one to tell them, “NO!”

4 comments on “new age for adulthood”

  1. I just discovered your blog and promptly read every one of your posts (with the exception of the one you took down, which I suspect I would have thoroughly enjoyed!!) Most made me smile, a couple made me laugh out loud, and one definitely made me sad. But ALL reminded me of the many unique & wonderful qualities that make me appreciate you so much, and why I’ll always be thankful that God directed our paths to intersect when they did!

    Love you!
    D.

  2. If you start that service for parents of adult children, I may subscribe! I especially love the fact that a full financial analysis would be required prior to the grant! 🙂


Leave a Reply

