stuck songs

By: ewhite422

Mar 30 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


Do you ever get songs stuck in your mind?  I sometimes wake up in the middle of the night with a tune playing over and over in my head.  I lie there trying to go back to sleep and it won’t quit playing.  So my strategy is to pick another song to combat the first song.  I go through my reportoire.  Old camp songs, old hymns, even classical pieces I played while studying with Mrs. Billingsley years ago.  Sometimes that works.

Most of the time it doesn’t.  That’s when I try my second strategy…my mantra.  I learned it from a motivational teacher, Walter Haley, when I lived in Austin.  Let’s see, “I am healthy, wealthy, and happy.  And I get want I want because I deserve it.  And I always do what I ought to do, when I ought to do it, whether I want to or not.  No debate.”  And that’s usually when my brain goes, “No you aren’t, and no you don’t.  Not even!  Give me a break.  Baloney!”  By that time I might have tricked it into forgetting the song, it is so pleased with itself.  And then I can go back to sleep.

But alas!  Some songs are really stubborn.  That’s when I have to call in reinforcements.  I wake my husband up and tell him the song I can’t get out of my mind, and I swear, I pass it to him!  It’s my last resort, but one has to do what one has to do!

The last time I did this was a couple of weeks ago.  I tried to pass him the song…I can’t remember which one…and I don’t want to remember which one, because I will wake up tonight with it.  I nudged him and said, “Remember that song?  And I hummed a little.”  He said, “Stop!  I don’t know that song, and you can’t pass it to me!”

Sometimes you just have to live with your own stuff, no matter what.

Leave a Reply

