too ambitious

By: ewhite422

Apr 21 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


Have you ever set goals for yourself that were too ambitious?  I do it all the time.  You’d think I’d learn.  I don’t save my “resolutions” for New Years.  No, I’m a glutton for punishment.

I say things like, “I’m going to work out every day.  I’m going to read all the books I currently own before I buy more.  I’m not going to complain about certain people who I can’t change.  And finally, I am going to write a blog everyday.”

I have a certain number of readers who visit this site every day, and I am astounded that you do it whether there is anything new or not!

My life is full.  As you may know, my husband and I have 9 children between us and there is never a dull moment.  Births, new jobs, unemployment, break-ups, disappointments, birthdays, career moves, and illnesses.

How did I think I would post something every day before 5:00 PM?

And then, there’s the book.  Those of you, who are close friends, know that I have been wrestling with the urge to write a book.  I’ve been talking about it for years.  I have a personal coach who has basically stopped talking to me until I get busy with it.  I’m finally writing. (Hello! Barry, did you see that?)  And I’ll tell you some of the topics below…but I thought I could do both…write a daily blog AND write the book.  I was determined to write on the blog about current happenings that won’t be included in my “memoirs”, so that IF my book gets published, my readers who have read my entries on a daily basis won’t say, “I read this already!  Give me my money back!”

So, what will I be writing?  Let’s see:

  • How did the Friday Night Lights mentality of my hometown affect young women as well as young football players?
  • How can conservative morality cause young people to make life-long decisions (marriage) about their lives, and what happens when those choices turn out wrong?
  • What are the roles of men and women in Christian marriage?
  • What is abuse?
  • What is the inside story on Christian missions and missionaries? (did you ever read The Poisonwood Bible?)
  • “Missionary stories” such as communist students threatening to kill us, the earthquake in Mexico City, sneaking contraband across the border, and being investigated by the Mexican government
  • How does US missions impact a foreign culture…stories from “the field”
  • What it was like to live in the US after being gone more than a decade (I missed the Reagan years)
  • How I helped the Religious Right take over the Republican Party in Texas
  • Break-in of my office by Republican moderates
  • USA today and the “Contract with the American Family”
  • Ending a marriage after 24 years…how certain Christians stopped talking to me
  • Rethinking everything
  • Reasoning with “liberals” and infidels
  • Wild and crazy business dealings in corporate America
  • The search for church
  • What IS required?
  • What IS NOT required?
  • What next?

That will give me a good start.

So, now I’m getting to the part where I admit that I was overly ambitious in setting a goal to post something new on this blog every day.

I hope you will still check in from time to time.  I hope you will leave your comments and suggestions.  And before anything, let me thank you for sharing our days together!

Leave a Reply

