the test

By: ewhite422

Apr 22 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


I made friends with a 7 year old and a 9 year old boy this week while I took care of their mother, recovering from double mastectomy.

When they arrived on Monday evening after being picked up by their step father, I squatted down on their level (I didn’t say it was easy) and said, “You can call me Lainie.”  They gave me a big hug because they had heard from their father, someone I used to work with, that I had come all the way from Texas to take care of their mother.  I like it when children like me!

I served spaghetti that evening because I heard it was their favorite, and just as we were about to finish the meal, I noticed that they had not touched their salads.

“If you eat your salad,” I said, “I’ll teach you a card trick that will amaze all your friends and even your teachers!”

They ate their lettuce and tomatoes, forthwith.

Then I whipped out my cards.  (I carry them with me everywhere in case I get bored).  The trick I showed them is not REALLY a trick…it just works out mathematically.  I can’t explain it, but it amazes everyone I show it to.  If I get enough requests, I might post it here.  🙂

Anyway, I apparently had won the confidence of the 9 year old.  He approached me in the kitchen as I was cleaning up from dinner.  “I’m going to have a birthday soon!,” he said. “And guess what!  I am going to get a cell phone!”

He’s in the 4th grade!  How early do kids get cell phones now????

“I just have to follow 3 rules so that I can get the phone,” he added.

“What ARE they?” I asked, still wondering why a 4th grader needed a cell phone.

“Well, first of all, I can’t have any bad behavior reports from school.”

That works for me, I thought.

“Next, I can’t forget my homework, and I already have one strike, because I forgot my homework last week!”

Good rule…I still remember forgetting my “Chippy the Chipmunk” homework in second grade and the whipping I got for that!

The next rule made me contain a laugh…

“And no LYING!” he said.

I don’t know why I laughed.  He was so earnest and wanted his cell phone so much.  He kind of reminded me of Huck Finn…sort of mischievous and believable at the same time.

“How’s the no lying working out for you?”  I asked, trying not to smile.

“It’s hard!” he said, “But I really want that cell phone!”

“Good for you!” I answered.  “I know you can do it!”

I wondered how many adults would pass the test.

Leave a Reply

