and that’s why people hate God

By: ewhite422

Apr 27 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


I had lunch with my former therapist yesterday.

We hadn’t seen each other in almost 10 years, so there was a lot of catching up to do.  Both of us have had our share of stresses, so we talked about those,  and then we reminisced about our first meeting, when I dumped all my “stuff” out on her.  That brought the biggest laugh and a gasp.  “I said that to you?!” she tried not to choke on her chicken salad.

“Yes, can you believe it?”  I returned.  “After you heard my story, you blurted out, ‘And that’s why people hate God!'”

It rather hurt my feelings, because I had tried hard to be and do what I thought my faith required, so to be “brought up short” was a shock to me.  But it got my attention.

And it changed my life.  I began to think differently about my concept of God.  Maybe I finally grew up.  Maybe I realized that God wanted me to take responsibility for my life.

I remember telling her, “It’s as though my life were a house, which I dedicated to God.  Then I went into the back bedroom closet and hid there.  I could hear all kinds of noises from people tramping through the house.  Things got broken.  Even my most treasured possessions were damaged.  Finally, I couldn’t take it anymore.  I flew out of the closet and dashed into the living room to find God seated on the sofa amidst the chaos and trash.  ‘What are you doing?’  I demanded (like you can demand a answer from God…but in this scene, He overlooked it).  ‘I gave all of this to you…why have you let this happen?’  God said, ‘Well, I was just waiting for you to come out so that we can clean this up together.'”

My therapist friend reminded me of that analogy yesterday.  I see how far I have come from that first day with her…and I’m still cleaning up.

Leave a Reply

