i am the boss now

By: ewhite422

Jun 15 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


We sat at the bank this morning, adding my signature to my mom’s and stepdad’s accounts.  Mother had announced to everyone who greeted us when we walked into the lobby, “She’s my daughter.”  I felt like a teenager again, and looked around to see who was watching.

While we sat waiting for our paperwork to be processed, Mother reached for a hard candy sucker on the bank employee’s desk.  About 2 minutes later, I could hear her biting the hard candy.

“Stop that!” I said, “It’s bad for your teeth!”

She looked at me the way I used to look at her.  I could see the thought in her mind, “You can’t tell me what to do!”

“Mom,” I tried more gently, “You might break your teeth if you crunch that hard candy.”

She nodded.  So I went for the jugular…”Remember, I’m the boss now.”  I reminded her with a smile.

She has been the bossy one for all of her life.  She has barked out orders to brothers and sisters, husbands, to me, and to nursing subordinates.  She even dared to tell the doctors she reported to what to do.

She’s strong.  So it didn’t surprise me when a few minutes later, I could hear her crunching the candy again.

Leave a Reply

