it’s all in the plan

By: ewhite422

Jul 01 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


In Mexico 9 college students lived with us.  It was like student housing…men on one side, women on the other.  (At least, I hope that’s how it was)  I had help, but I cooked every day for 15 people.  I bought all the groceries once a week and pushed one cart while I pulled the other behind me.  The most important step in this whole process was planning.  I planned menus a week in advance.

That’s why, when my friend told me last weekend that she would have her children and grandchildren with her for 11 days and that more children and family members, up to 23 people, would be at her home for July 4th weekend, my eyes got wide.  She is not a planner.

“What are you going to feed them?”  I asked.

“I’m not sure,” she moaned.

“You’re in big trouble!” I said flatly, and I got out my pen and notebook and started drawing a chart for breakfast, lunch, and dinner for a week.  She’ll have to figure it out for herself the second week.

It’s not as easy as one might think.  Grandkids have their preferences…certain cereal, grape jelly, peanut butter, and breakfast bars.  You have to get the right brand.  Some people eat only organic.  It’s a lot to manage.

By the time I was through she had her menus for the next 7 days and her complete grocery list.  She thought they were arriving on Tuesday, but just as we were finishing up on Sunday afternoon, her daughter texted her, “see you tomorrow!”

My friend had gotten the days mixed up.  Thank goodness she now had a plan.

Being the comforting friend that I am, I teased, “You’ll probably have to stay up all night.” 

I hope things are going well.  I think they’re down for taco salad tonight.

Leave a Reply

