what’s google?

By: ewhite422

Jul 02 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


Once a week I stay overnight at my mom’s and stepdad’s house.  I have begun this ritual because I need to see how she does things, where everything is located, and figure out what I can do to help, now that she is losing her memory.

Since she is no longer able to do her work on the computer to help Dad with invoicing in his specialty advertising business, I have been working with him to walk through the process of scanning the invoice and sending it via email to customers.

I wrote out the steps the last time I was there, but he admitted that he was still not getting it right and that he was frustrated.  I must have left something out.  For me it’s normal to click out of one program and click into another, so I must have forgotten to write, “click the small “e” at the bottom left of the screen to open Internet Explorer.”

Sure enough, that was it.

We then discussed Medicare and Medicaid.  He said, “Well, I guess I’ll have to go down to their office and find out the answer to my question.”

“Have you “googled” it?”  I asked.

“What’s that?”  he asked sincerely.

“You don’t know about Google?” I exclaimed, incredulous.

He didn’t, and I cannot tell you how much pleasure I got out of introducing him to what I called, “his new best friend.” 

“Dad, you can find whatever you need to know right here!”  We googled his question about Medicare and got his answer within 3 seconds.  He was amazed.

I haven’t had that much satisfaction in teaching something new, since I taught my children to read.

I turned to leave.

“You mean I can find anything through Google?”  he asked again with a wry smile.

I could see the gears turning in his mind.  “Don’t go there!” I shook my finger at him.

He laughed.  He and I both knew he wouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

