work?

By: ewhite422

Jul 10 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


I teased a Facebook friend recently when he complained about having to go to work, that he sounded like Maynard G. Krebs on the old television show, Dobie Gillis.  I feel bad about that now.

For those of you too young to remember the amusing beatnik, played by Bob Denver, here’s a link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7z_JGk6_WxY.  Maynard had an “allergy” to work.

I think more and more people are beginning to develop this allergy, because many US companies expect employees to work day and night.  They give them Blackberries, so they can be available at all times via email or text message.  They expect sales people to respond to RFPs on their own time, usually late at night after the children are in bed.

Executives send out emails in the wee hours of the morning and take note how early their employees respond.

I scheduled vacation time off for the birth of my second granddaughter and was hounded every day by my company to bring in a large new account.  Between helping my daughter with household chores and holding the new baby and my older granddaughter, I was juggling conference calls and urgent emails.  They forced me to fly across the country to give a presentation when my daughter had been home only a few days from the hospital.

Female friends of mine who are executives tell me that they are burning out, and that they have no time to “be there” for their children.

I have male friends who tell me that the work never stops.

We have got to rethink how we do things!  The level of stress that people are experiencing is only causing more illness, crime, and accidents.

Since I am posting this on Saturday, I hope that you are not working and are taking some leisure time for yourself and family.  The people we love will not be with us forever.  There will always be work.

Leave a Reply

