don’t tell me what I can’t do!

By: ewhite422

Jul 29 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


I can be stubborn.  I admit it.

I was once working for a very challenging, but likeable man, who was Cuban and fancied himself as “Ricky Ricardo.”  His temper would flare without notice, and his eyes would bulge with anger.

It usually made me laugh.  Which didn’t go over quite so well, until once he got over being mad.

I was working on a big account, one that was bigger than anything the company had taken on.  We were in the contract stage.  And they had had our agreement for 6 weeks without anything happening.

I was getting frustrated, so I declared one Friday morning that I was going to go to Dallas and pick up the signed contract.

“You are not!” his eyes bulged as he gave me my orders.

“Don’t tell me what I can’t do!”  I countered, “You want that contract signed just as much as I do!”

“They are going to make us kiss their (you know what) for another month at least before we get anything signed.”  he announced.

“Well, what if I prove you wrong?”  I asked, stubborn woman that I am.

“Well, if you’re going to get the contract, I am going with you!”  he started to wonder if I might be right, but then he added, “And if YOU get the contract signed, I will kiss your shoe!”

“Fine!” I said, smiling to myself.

The following Monday we flew to Dallas from Austin and arrived at the offices of our potential client.  We were ushered into the purchasing office, where a wiry, red-haired guy with a mischievous smile greeted us.

“Doug, we are very excited about this opportunity to serve your company, and I know we have been going back and forth on the contract for a while now,” I took a deep breath, “Do you think there’s any chance that we could get it executed today?”  I raised my eyebrows.

Doug looked me straight in the eye for a long time, then he looked over at my boss and back at me, as if he were figuring everything out.  “Yes!” he said, “As a matter of fact I’ll print it out right now, and we’ll get it taken care of!”

My heart was racing, and I could see my boss shifting in his chair.

Ten minutes later we had the signed contract in our hot little hands and we, delirious, said our goodbyes and headed for the car.

Once we got into the car I put my shoe up on the dashboard.  “Okay,” I said.

“I’m NOT going to kiss your shoe right in front of their office!”  he exclaimed.

“Okay then, DRIVE around to the other side of the parking lot!” I demanded.

This time I got out of the car and put my shoe on the front bumper, and I got out my cell phone camera.

I have that picture on my desk at all times, to remind myself that sometimes I am right!

Leave a Reply

