we’re number 11!

By: ewhite422

Sep 13 2010

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


I read Thomas Friedman’s editorial in the New York Times aloud to my husband yesterday.  I highly recommend it!  http://www.nytimes.com/2010/09/12/opinion/12friedman.html?_r=1&src=me&ref=general

He references Newsweek’s recent study on the “The World’s Best Countries,” http://www.newsweek.com/feature/2010/the-world-s-best-countries.html.

And guess what, we’re number 11!

After having lived outside the US for 12 years, I cannot tell you how many times I bristled when I would hear my American colleagues say, “Well, we’re the best country in the world!”

Really?  On what basis?

I know…I know.  We all love our story of liberty and pursuit of happiness.  It IS a good story and I still believe it.

But I think we have crossed over the lines to hubris.  We are so confident that we are the best…we sound like a cheerleading squad for a team that used to win the state championship years ago, but they just can’t get the ball into the end zone very much anymore.

There’s an old proverb:  “Pride goes before the fall.”

And I think we need to wake up and realize that we have to keep doing the things that win…no resting on our laurels…to really be the best.  It is hard work and takes sacrifice, not just a good PR campaign.

Leave a Reply

