Bridges Get Walked On

By: ewhite422

Nov 09 2012

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


I have friends on both the political right and left, and I love them all.

I think I’ve learned my lesson, though…you know…the one you might have heard from your mother, “Don’t ever talk about religion or politics in polite company.”

Only a few of my friends know me well enough to leave the “polite” aside, and we can have very different viewpoints while still being friends.

With the others, I try to be a bridge.  I try to talk issues, not parties.  I try to present both sides. (Didn’t they make us do that in debate class?) 

Sometimes I get walked on by some of my friends who do not want to look at both sides.  I’m not complaining.  I’ve done my share of demonizing “the other” in a former version of myself, so I figure it’s part of the pay back I’ll just have to endure.

But I do wish for more people who build bridges…I know several who do so much better than I. I try to be like them.  Still I wish for more.  You know the old saying, “misery loves company.”  I’m only miserable when I give into self pity.  Stil, I am what I am and will continue to try and understand both sides.

Leave a Reply

