More signs

By: ewhite422

Apr 13 2014

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


I buried Josh on a Friday.

On Saturday my daughter and her family needed to travel back to Austin.  The girls wanted pizza or pasta.  That was fine, because an executive with Olive Garden had attended the funeral and handed me a $200 gift card.

“You can have whatever you want!” I declared.  How can you spend $200 unless you are drinking?

Anyway, we sat down, and the server approached, “Hi, my name is Josh.  I’ll be your server.”  I burst into tears

Later that evening, Josh’s uncle took his wife to dinner at Morton’s Steak House.  The server approached, “Hi, my name is Josh.  I’ll be your server.”  They cried, too.

Finally, on Monday, as I was about to drive back to The Woodlands, I took Josh’s uncle and aunt out for lunch at a Mexican restaurant.  The server approached, and he looked like he might speak Spanish, so in Spanish I asked, “Your name is not Josh is it?”

“Noooo, Senora, my name is Jesus.”

I turned to my guests and told them they could relax.  Josh was not our server.  Jesus was.

Leave a Reply

