resurrection: the day after

By: ewhite422

Apr 20 2014

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


I had no idea when I wrote this that it was my son’s last Easter and that I would have to LIVE these words I wrote.

Elaine White

Yesterday, Easter Sunday, my husband, my son, and his girlfriend arose before dawn and walked silently to the edge of Lake Travis, in Austin, Texas to greet the day with a “sunrise service” commemorating the resurrection of Jesus.  The sun didn’t show up.  It was hidden behind clouds, so, undaunted, we watched the mist on the lake and listened to an occasional fish jumping…I like to think for joy, but perhaps, in escape of a predator.

We reflected on the resurrection and what it meant to us.  I shared from memory the story written in the gospels, and we imagined what it must have been like to be Mary, who arose early in the morning and went to the tomb to find it empty.

How many times do we wake up to revisit our plans or our sure beliefs and find emptiness?  What happens when our security is breached?  Or our sense…

View original post 244 more words

Leave a Reply

