But I Met You at the Post Office


I can’t remember if I’ve written this before on this blog.  I am of a certain age, and tend to repeat myself, so if you’ve heard this story already, just roll your eyes like certain members of my family, and read what’s new on Huffington Post.

I had been divorced only a month when I spotted a man on crutches from behind at the post office.  He had broad shoulders, narrow hips, and I thought to myself, “I should get a look at the front of him.”  I picked up my steps and got in line in front of him to get my stamps.  I turned around.  He saw me see him.  And he saw me.  He looked over at the clerk who was a witness to our first encounter, and the clerk silently mouthed to him, “Oh yeah!”

We got our postal business done, and when we left, we found we were parked side by side.  His opening line to me was, “Do you like driving that Mercedes?” (Now, really, what woman does not like to drive a Mercedes?)

I said, “Yes, but I might have to sell it.  You see, I just got a divorce, and I’m not sure I can afford the maintenance.”

“Well, I might be interested in buying it!” he said.  He introduced himself and then left without getting any contact information.  I went on my way to work and forgot about the whole thing.

A week later I was at the post office again, and there he was. (He later confessed that he went every day that week, looking for my car).  “Hey there,” he said, “If I were interested in buying your car, how would I get in touch with you?”

I handed him one of my business cards.  A couple of days later I received a greeting card in the mail from him.  The message inside said, “I hope you don’t think this is too forward, but I would like to ask you out…I am also interested in your car.”

I smiled, and when he called the next day, I said, “I am really flattered, and the truth is I saw you first!  But I was married for 24 years, and I am just a wreck.  I can’t go out with anyone.”

“I understand,” he said, “I’ve been through that myself.  It will get better.  I am going to be gone to Venezuela for a couple of months.  If it’s okay, I’ll call when I get back.”

“Okay,” I said.  While he was gone, he sent me a couple of greeting cards telling me that life would get better.  I started to like this man.  But when he returned, I still did not go out with him.

Finally in March (we met in September), I agreed to meet him for dinner.  I learned that he has 7 children, which immediately signaled my brain to put him in the unmarriageable category.  But, I thought, it wouldn’t hurt to let him buy me dinner or take me to a movie occasionally.  We met the next night for dinner.  I enjoyed his company.

And then I decided to invite him to church AND Sunday school to see if I was going to get rid of him…faith has always been important to me.  He showed up and participated, passing the test.

After church he said, “I’d like to invite you to the Austin Wine and Food Festival this afternoon.”

“Oh! I’ve always wanted to go to that,” I said.

“Well, it’s about 30 miles away.  Are you going to meet me there?  Or are you going to let me take you in my car?”

“Hmmm, no offense intended, but you could be Ted Bundy for all I know!” I replied.  “I met you at the post office!  I don’t know you in any context!”

He good naturedly asked, “Well, do you want my driver’s license?”

“Yes,” I said, “I think I do.”

So about an hour later he showed up at my apartment with 2 copies (1 for me, 1 for my mother) of his driver’s license, his employment card with Dresser Industries, his SAM’S CARD, and his RANDALL’S REMARKABLE CARD!  I laughed.  Very cute.

I said, “You forgot a credit card.”

“I’m not stupid,” he said, “I met you at the post office!”

6 comments on “But I Met You at the Post Office”

  1. I totally enjoyed this post! It made me giggle, and I had to read it to my
    teenagers, who loved it as well. You are a really GOOD storyteller, Elaine.
    I like your writing style and your ability to be real with your readers.

  2. I can hardly wait for your book to get finished!

    • Me, too! I am trying to build my “platform” now…publishers require readership on social media…so you can help me by sharing my posts with friends.

      I enjoy your comments.

  3. Great post. Going to share for sure.. Hope this gets around like other things. LOL

    • Thank you! I am working on a book project and trying to build a platform before I contact agents, so I would LOVE for you to share!

      Thanks for the kind message!


Leave a Reply

