Recovery

By: ewhite422

Dec 31 2014

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


My husband sent me to rehab in September.  It was a very nice facility in the hill country in central Texas.  The staff was kind and compassionate, but the experience almost killed me.  The twelve step program is not for everyone, and I seem to be one of those exceptions.

I’ve self medicated with alcohol for a long time.  Drunks all have their reasons.  Mine?

Stressful career changes

Husband’s open heart surgery

Mother’s dementia, the long goodbye, (two years in assisted living), and her death on December first.

My son’s death in a fiery plane crash in 2011

My husband’s series of mini-strokes which caused him to take medical leave of absence for seven months

My stepdad’s health concerns

My neighbors got together a few months ago and one said, “Gosh, Elaine, what ELSE can happen to you?”

I said, “Don’t say that too loudly!  Someone up there will think of something!”

I told two of my friends in recovery that I defy anyone to go through what I’ve been through without having some hang up.  Still, all the reasons in the world are not helping me deal effectively with my life, and I am ready to get well.

I would like to recommend a program that I’m working along with two of my friends.  Here’s the link:

http://lifeprocessprogram.com/

It is not a twelve step program.  It is empowering and hopeful.

I am not well yet, but I will be.  If you know anyone who struggles with addiction, whether it’s with drugs or alcohol, food, gambling, or sex, this program could be helpful.

Dr. Stanton Peele’s newest book is Recover! Stop Thinking Like an Addict and Reclaim Your Life with the Perfect Program. http://www.peele.net/

I’ll write again and let you know how I’m doing.  I am determined.

If you contact the program, be sure to tell them I sent you.  They’ll be extra nice!

Leave a Reply

