Uncle Harry

By: ewhite422

Jan 07 2015

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


I can’t remember if I’ve already written about this.  I tend to repeat myself these days, so if you’ve already heard the story, scroll on.

We have a large plant by our front doorstep.  It’s called “Uncle Harry.”  My great uncle nurtured that plant, and it is at least 50 years old.  He gave it to me before he died a few years ago.

Anyway, I think I told you that I struggled with Christmas traditions since my son died in February of 2011.  He would always be here to pick out the tree, and he complained that he had to be responsible for putting the lights on.

“Why do I have to do this?” he asked.

“Because your a boy, and it’s your job.” Typical mom answer, right?

This year, after ignoring Christmas for a while, I decided to put up a Christmas tree, and my daughter and her family came the day after Thanksgiving to decorate.  Then we had our traditional neighborhood party on Saturday.

What was so wonderful was that, even though Josh is no longer here to decorate the tree, the “Uncle Harry” plant outside our door had 5 cocoons on it, and they look like Christmas decorations!  Josh decorated “Uncle Harry!”

He didn’t have to do lights, though.

Leave a Reply

