Hunkered Down

By: ewhite422

Feb 06 2015

Category: Uncategorized

2 Comments


Is that a Texas term?

I don’t know, but it’s what I’m doing.  I did not go with my husband to his mother’s best friend’s funeral in Kerrville, Texas last week.  I did not go with him this morning to our friend’s daughter’s funeral which will take place in Tyler on Saturday.

This will be the first birthday that I will miss for my granddaughter, who turns 8 on Sunday.

What is wrong?

I am hunkered down, trying to take care of me…trying to get well.

I sometimes laugh that I’m like a wounded dog who has burrowed into a hole…if you approach her, she might bite you.  But really, I don’t bite.

I just don’t show up like I used to.

Soooo, if you miss me, please, give me a call (you remember I lost all my contact phone numbers last month so I can’t call you).

I’ll be hunkered down for a while, and then…I’m going to be better than I ever was.  My motto is that “my latter days will be greater than my former days.” (that’s a paraphrase from that little book called the Bible)

Just wait…I’ll come out and kick some ass. (I can use that term…it’s in the Bible, too)

2 comments on “Hunkered Down”

  1. Love this. Love you.


Leave a Reply

