The Queen

By: ewhite422

Feb 11 2015

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


I’m embarrassed to write this, but what the heck; I’m on the “roto-rooter” for truth these days in my quest to get well.

I took a couple of those tests on Facebook last week.  One was, “Who were you in a former life?”  The other was, “What kind of house should you live in?”

I was curious, so I answered the questions, and on the first one, the answer came back, “QUEEN.”  It said something about my being a benevolent ruler and that my subjects loved me.  Ha! I shared it on my Facebook wall and got a laugh or two.

A couple of days later, I took the other test.  What kind of house should I live in?  A castle.  Really?  I hung my head.

My son, when he was alive, used to call me, “the queen of everything.”  It is a joke in our family and some of our friends get in on it, too.

I was in Seattle a couple of years ago doing a design project in the home of my dear friends.  We were out shopping for their home in an eclectic market, when Jack (not his real name) insisted that I go and look at something he’d found.

“It’s not for our home.  It’s for you!” he said laughing.

It was a sign that said, “Not everyone can be the queen.  Some of you have to sit on the curb and wave as I go by.”  We had a good laugh, and he insisted I buy it. It hangs on the doorknob of the pantry in my kitchen, and not everyone is amused.  I have stepdaughters who don’t get the joke.

I can’t help it.  I am who I am.  When I went to Baylor, my freshman year I was voted, “Howdy Queen!”  Now that’s funny…I don’t care who you are.

A few years ago, when I was discussing a job promotion with my boss, he asked, “What do you want your title to be?”  I responded, “Her Royal Majesty?”  Another good laugh.

Okay, so, since it has been determined I am a queen, I am making my decree that I KNOW that my only domain is over myself, and inside me, I have some unruly subjects.  I am determined to get them to obey my rule.  It’s a full time job.

Some of you know that I take myself out of town on the anniversary of my son’s death, February 27th and on his birthday April 23rd.  A couple of years ago, I took myself to New York City to the “Women and Happiness” conference.  I figured I could use some happiness.

The first session was so boring…about women and food.  Food is not my issue.  So I asked the conference coordinator if there was another track for the conference.

“Oh yes! We have James van Praagh!”  she said.

“Okay, whatever,” I replied.

I sat in a room with around 200-300 women, and James took the stage.  In case you don’t know, he’s a world reknown psychic.  After he spoke to a few other women, he said, “I want to speak to the mother of Joshua, a world traveler who spoke several languages, and was a bit of a wise-acre.”

I was trembling as I stood up.  He told me several things about Josh that only Josh and I knew, and then he said, “Josh wants you to know he’s putting a tiara on your head, and you know what that means!”  It made me cry.  It still does, but I am determined to get my domain in order.

So far so good. My faithful subjects are falling in line, and I’m determined to be a benevolent ruler.

And just for the record, no one has to sit on the curb and wave.

Leave a Reply

