New Chapter

By: ewhite422

Apr 28 2015

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


My last blog post was the day my husband was forced into early retirement by that lovely company called Halliburton.

My life has not been the same.

First of all, I am not used to someone following me around like a sick puppy. It is hard on a strong man, when he has nothing to do. And if I have a tiny bit of stomach upset, I’m not used to someone saying to me, “You’ve been to the bathroom 3 times in the last 28 minutes!”

I had to get his mind on something else…

I asked that he plant a garden…done.

I asked that he fire the “gardener,” (whom I have fired on 3 different occasions because he does sloppy work…he always said I’d be back…like a bad marriage). Done.

I found my husband a place to volunteer, a place where he can use his gifts taking care of horses (he used to raise them) and helping emotionally/physically handicapped children bond with horses. (Lord knows he has experience with children, since he fathered 7 of them…that we know about).

Did I mention he used to be a directional driller? That always gets a good laugh when I tell an audience that he has 7 children.

Well, we are getting through this new chapter. It is not for the faint of heart. I still wake up at 4:00 AM, when his alarm used to go off to get to work. I try to get to the gym by 7:00 AM (when daylight savings time deems it the right time to have light). And then I have my daily call with my “board of directors” friends who are working the same recovery program as I am.

After that I’m supposed to be writing my book and planning where I’m going to go around and tell all my funny stories…and some not so funny to bereaved parents.

This next chapter is challenging! But what else am I going to do? Eating bon-bons and watching television just doesn’t fit.

Leave a Reply

