Childhood Messages

By: ewhite422

Apr 30 2015

Category: Uncategorized

Leave a comment


I was walking into the grocery store yesterday and I noticed that I was avoiding the cracks in the sidewalk. Remember the old adage, “Don’t step on a crack or you’ll break your mother’s back?” Who came up with that?

Anyway, I still avoid the cracks, and my mother has been in heaven since December.

Our childhood training has long lasting effects, even when it does not make sense.

Maybe I just never grew up.

Remember the Bible verse, 11 When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things?” (1 Corinthians 13:11 KJV)

I am still trying to do that.

But the messages get passed down for generations. My mother’s mother always told her, “Anybody can just throw food on a table! You need to present the food with style.” And my mom passed that down to me. We have almost no plastic in our house for serving food. Nope. Just Chrystal and china.

I do not even remember the last time I went to a fast food restaurant…my mother, the nurse, did not approve of their fatty ingredients.

Speaking of mothers, I’ll bet that young man whose mother confronted him about rioting will never forget that episode!

Mothers matter. I only pray the messages I’ve handed down have been loving.

Leave a Reply

